We salute the outstanding people working to enhance Jewish life in all facets of our community.

Through the many awards we grant each year, we recognize some of these exemplary people and the great value of their contributions.

See a complete list of past recipients or read more about previous winners on our blog. 

Awards distributed annually are:    

Robert Sinton Award for Distinguished Leadership

In honor of Robert Sinton, a businessman and community leader whose dedication to the Federation and other Bay Area organizations spanned more than five decades, this leadership award embodies his passion for Jewish communal volunteerism and includes a financial stipend to a Jewish agency or organization chosen by the recipient. For more information, contact us.



Judith Chapman Memorial Women's Leadership Award

In memory of Judith Chapman, an esteemed volunteer leader, friend, and member of our Jewish community, this award honors a woman who exemplifies significant and sustained volunteer leadership, and who values her Jewish identity and the importance of tzedakah in her life. For more information, contact us.



Lloyd W. Dinkelspiel Award

Honoring the first president of the Jewish Community Federation, the annual Lloyd W. Dinkelspiel Award for Young Leadership, inaugurated in October of 1959, recognizes an outstanding young leader in the local Jewish community. For more information, contact us.



Diller Teen Tikkun Olam Awards

These awards recognize teens who are exceptional role models in their communities. Each year, up to 15 selected teens, five from California and ten from other communities across the country, are awarded $36,000 for community service and for demonstrating exemplary leadership and commitment to improving the world around them. For more information, contact us.

Diller Education Awards

Helen Diller cared deeply about the future of the Jewish community and understood the key role that exceptional educators play in assuring the next generations are proud, knowledgeable, and connected. With this in mind, the Federation and the Helen Diller Family Foundation created an awards program that puts a spotlight on Jewish educators and elevates their important role in the community. Each year we honor outstanding educators with the Diller Education Awards and will open nominations for the Diller Prize for Distinguished Lifetime Achievement for the first time in 2020. Learn More

The Anne and Robert Cowan Writer's Prize

Established at the Federation in 2004, this award recognizes writers who have made an exceptional impact in the Bay Area through their uniquely Jewish perspective. Awardees must be emerging published Jewish writers who live in the Bay Area, are considered exceptionally gifted by their peers and readers, write with a high degree of creativity and intelligence, and engage thoughtfully with Jewish themes in their work. The Cowan Writer’s Prize includes a grant of $5,000. The most recent Cowan Prize recipient was announced in July 2020. 

Nominations are now being accepted. Submission deadline is January 17, 2022. Submissions are reviewed as received. Self-nominations are encouraged! A winner will be announced in June 2022. Please contact Alan Brody with questions.