We salute the outstanding people and programs working to enhance Jewish life in all facets of our community.

Through the many awards we grant each year, the Jewish Community Federation and Endowment Fund recognizes some of these exemplary people and programs. We are extremely proud of the recipients and place a great value on their contributions.

See a complete list of past recipients or read more about previous winners on our blog. 

Awards distributed annually are:    

Robert Sinton Award for Distinguished Leadership

In honor of Robert Sinton, a businessman and community leader whose dedication to the Federation and other Bay Area organizations spanned more than five decades, this leadership award embodies his passion for Jewish communal volunteerism and includes a financial stipend to a Jewish agency or organization chosen by the recipient. For more information, contact us.

Judith Chapman Memorial Women's Leadership Award

In memory of Judith Chapman, an esteemed volunteer leader, friend, and member of our Jewish community, this award honors a woman from the Federation’s service area who exemplifies significant and sustained volunteer leadership, and who values her Jewish identity and the importance of tzedakah in her life. For more information, contact us.

Lloyd W. Dinkelspiel Award

Honoring the first president of the Jewish Community Federation, the annual Lloyd W. Dinkelspiel Award for Young Leadership, inaugurated in October of 1959, recognizes an outstanding young leader in the local Jewish community. For more information, contact us.

Diller Teen Tikkun Olam Awards

These awards recognize teens who are exceptional role models in their communities. Each year, up to 15 selected teens, five from California and ten from other communities across the country, are awarded $36,000 for community service and for demonstrating exemplary leadership and commitment to improving the world around them. For more information, contact us.

Helen Diller Family Awards for
Excellence in Jewish Education

Established in January 2001, these awards recognize and honor educators offering pre-collegiate programs in Jewish education who have made an extraordinary impact on the youth of our community. Categories include early childhood, day school, congregational or community school, and informal education (outside of a classroom). Please enjoy personal stories of past recipients, and see the nomination process. For more information, contact us.

Grinspoon-Steinhardt Award

This national award, based on significant contributions to classroom teaching, is presented to up to 65 teachers throughout the United States and carries with it funds for professional development and a cash award. For more information, contact us.

Haas/Koshland Memorial Award

Each year students apply for the annual Haas/Koshland Memorial Award. The grant, which is given by the descendants of Walter A. Haas, Sr. and Daniel E. Koshland, Sr., funds a year of personal exploration and development in Israel. See a list of past winners. For more information, contact us

The Anne and Robert Cowan Writer's Prize

Established at the Federation in 2004, this award recognizes writers who have made an exceptional impact in the Bay Area through their uniquely Jewish perspective. Awardees must be emerging published Jewish writers who live in the Bay Area, are considered exceptionally gifted by their peers and readers, write with a high degree of creativity and intelligence, and engage thoughtfully with Jewish themes in their work. The Cowan Writer’s Prize includes a grant of $5,000.


Nominations for the Cowan Writer's Prize will be opening soon! Please check back here in mid to late September for the nomination for. Self-nominations are encouraged!